Quinoa Granola, My New Love


I’ve been trying to find something, anything, that will satisfy my cravings for something crunchy to snack on that does not include gluten, corn, onion, garlic, egg or dairy. (Not that dairy is necessarily crunchy… but still…my list of acceptable foods is seriously dwindling, and it’s really taking a toll on my snacking problem.)

It’s been a challenge.

quinoa granolaThis recipe for Quinoa Granola (thank you Hungry Hungry Hippie!),  has been really nice to have around since my breakup with pizza. I modified it to fit what I had in the pantry, and it was a hit! Even my 4-year-old, who is reluctant to try anything new, and even more reluctant to like anything new, loved it so much that he had two helpings, and said, “This is so delicious I almost forgot about my trains!”

Yeah, it’s that good.

I substituted more oats for the buckwheat, used hazelnuts instead of walnuts, and even left out the dried fruit on occasion, so I would say you could be pretty flexible with the recipe too and modify it to fit your needs/tastes. It’s really all about the cinnamon and the maple/coconut flavor combination.

Here’s the recipe with my modifications:

Quinoa Granola

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole rolled oats (certified gluten-free if needed)
  • 1/3 cup quinoa (I used 1/6 cup each of red and white quinoa)
  • 2 T chia seeds
  • 3/4 cup raw almonds, coarsely chopped
  • 1/4 cup raw pumpkin seeds
  • 1/4 cup raw sunflower seeds
  • 1/4 cup raw hazelnuts, coarsely chopped
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/3 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup real maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil, melted

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 225 degrees F.
  2. In large mixing bowl, combine everything except the maple syrup and coconut oil. Mix well.
  3. Add melted coconut oil and maple syrup. Mix well.
  4. Spread onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.
  5. Bake for 60 minutes at 225 degrees F.
  6. Let it cool and then break apart. (You probably won’t need to actually break it. It crumbles pretty easily if you just bring the ends of the parchment paper together.)

Maybe someday I will learn how to add a really cool recipe app or something to my blog so you could just print it easily, but for now, you’ll just have to copy and paste it. Sorry.

But on the bright side, you now have a super-delicious way to use all that quinoa you bought at Costco. 🙂 Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Quinoa Granola, My New Love

  1. elise says:

    yayyyyyyy!!! and hazelnuts?!?! yum!

  2. Janet says:

    I can’t wait to try this. I have lots of chia seeds too. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Suzanne says:

    So, I was looking for something tasty to make Sunday evening and decided to try this. I was congratulating and laughing at myself for having all these ingredients on hand because I didn’t even know what quinoa and chia seeds were a few years ago!! (Let alone stock up on pumpkin seeds or hazelnuts.) Well, then I got to the maple syrup part, and low and behold, we were out!!! So, I substituted agave. Probably didn’t work out right as far as it all sticking together, but was delicious still the same!

    • I’m glad it turned out! This granola is actually more crumbly than other kinds I’ve tried. I’m sure honey would make it stick better. BTW, you can always borrow from me if you need anything.

Leave a Reply

