An Almost Gluten-Free Thanksgiving


I guess I spoke too soon last night when I said that I didn’t get sick after eating the wonderful gluten-free Thanksgiving dinner my family took so much care to make. I woke up this morning with a headache again, I look about 3 months pregnant, and my muscles have slowly stiffened up throughout the day to the point where I’ve lost about 70% of the range of motion in my neck. In fact, I can barely manage to write this post and I need to lie down, so this will be short.

Yes, it appears that somehow, somewhere, a tiny speck of gluten must have jumped into my food, the evil little monster! I feel the same way as this other celiac blogger who created this cartoon of how she feels about gluten:

Glutens-who-stole-christmas

It seems RIDICULOUS to have to be so careful when preparing my food, but there are apparently many, many ways that gluten can sneak into your food without you knowing it. I hope I can figure it all out soon, but until then, I guess I’m going to have to just bring my own food everywhere I go and make sure that I’m the one who prepared every speck of it. Not exactly sure how I’m going to do that, but that’s the only thing I can think of to do right now. It’s more than a little frustrating.

I don’t have anything uplifting or insightful to offer you tonight. Just be UBER-grateful when you eat your turkey dinner on Thursday that you can gorge yourself without too much thought as to what exactly is in those mashed potatoes.

Unless you can’t, for whatever reason, in which case I offer you this e-hug and an empathetic shoulder to whine on. 😉

— The Conscious Mom

P.S. (Spell-check just offered “TUBER-grateful” as a suggestion. Haha!)

This entry was posted in Conscious Eating and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An Almost Gluten-Free Thanksgiving

  1. Pingback: Hierarchy of Needs | The Conscious Mom's Journey

Leave a Reply

