Kiss the Joy As It Flies


I love Love LOVED having artist/author Ben Behunin show his artwork at my home tonight at the open house I hosted for him. His art always inspires me, and it was great fun seeing and chatting with all of my friends and family who came over. In fact, I was having so much fun enjoying the party that I completely forgot to take any pictures of the event.

I had totally planned on it so a) I could blog about it and show you how cool his stuff is, b) put it in my scrapbook, and c) have that certain feeling of security that comes with having a photo in your hands as you recall a memory.

But then you know what happened? I experienced my life. I experienced it. Without any thoughts of past or future. Only present.

It makes me think of the poem by William Blake called Eternity.

He who binds to himself a joy

Does the winged life destroy.

But he who kisses the joy as it flies

Lives in eternity’s sunrise.

I love the idea of kissing the joy as it flies. And you know what? It hurts to love that idea. A moment you love so much that you want to kiss it is flying away, and you have to let it go. And you have to enjoy it while it’s there, otherwise it flies away anyway and then you lost your chance to love it. To KISS it. To ENJOY it. To EXPERIENCE it.

So even though I’m disappointed that I don’t have any pictures of my fun artist open house, I am thoroughly pleased with the fact that I was actually living my life enough to get lost in it.

— The Conscious Mom

This entry was posted in Finding Joy, Staying Present and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kiss the Joy As It Flies

  1. Laurel says:

    I wish I could have been there. I’m so glad you are living your life. The pictures would have been nice but would only give me a vague sense of what was going on at your house. The true value was that you and everyone who attended were present and experiencing a wonderful evening. I got to experience bottling the last of my tomatoes and there is something very satisfying about being in that moment as well.

  2. Pingback: Congratulations from Buddy the Elf! | The Conscious Mom's Journey

Leave a Reply

