A Funny Little Story About God


This post is brought to you by an unexpected moment of consciousness during lunch with my 4-year-old. I was just sitting down having sandwiches with him — just the two of us — and out of the blue, he started in with this awesomely funny story. I paid close attention because I knew I wouldn’t have time to grab a camera or anything. I just had to listen and be present.

Here it is, in his own words:

“What if you didn’t believe in God and you went up into space, and you went to his house, and saw him, and you said, ‘Who are YOU? Is your name… Jenn?’

(In a deep low voice) “No, that’s a girl’s name.”

“Is it… Kevin?”

“No…”

“Then who are you?”

(Continuing in a slow, deep voice) “My name is God.”

“What? You aren’t even alive!”

“Well, I believe in you, and I watch over you all the time. … Even when you are fighting.”

“How do you know that word?”

“Well…,” (a little sheepishly), “sometimes I fight with the Holy Ghost when he won’t let me into his room.”

****

I love that I got to share this moment with him. And I love that it shows so much of his personality (he hates it when he gets shut out of any room by his siblings).

I hope you enjoyed the story as much as I did. But more importantly, I hope you enjoy those unexpected moments of consciousness with your own kids. Next time you realize one of those moments is happening, resist the urge to run away from it while you find your camera phone, and just pay attention and enjoy it.

Stay present.

Love,

— The Conscious Mom

This entry was posted in Conscious Parenting, stories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Funny Little Story About God

  1. Melanie says:

    I love thinking of this story being told in his voice.

  2. Jessica Payne says:

    Oh my gosh, this is so funny and so adorable.

  3. Laurel says:

    I think one of the things we’ve lost in our modern, tech savvy world is the ability to be present. I love that you didn’t get your phone or camera and just enjoyed the moment. I was watching a show on PBS and they were talking about how disconnected we are becoming (and have already become) as a society. As they were talking about cyber bullying and text only conversations, the moderator told of a a comedic video on Youtube where the comedian talked about his daughter’s dance recital and how every single parent pulled out their phones to record the event instead of just watching and enjoying it. Somehow we think that if there is a video online it becomes more real than when it actually happens. This was so evident the next day when I saw a friend’s video on facebook where they were recording “the baby’s first laugh.” Their three-year-old kept asking to seed “the baby’s first laugh” video and the dad just kept saying “You don’t need to see the video, she’s laughing right here.” The little girl was very insistent and would not give up. We have to be very careful today about letting our children experience real events, real emotions and real relationships. And we have to start by being present ourselves. Kudos to you Holly!!!!

    • Thanks Laurie. I know, it’s funny how we think that it’s somehow more real if we can go back and watch it again. It reminds me of a part in the beginning of Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance where they’re talking about the difference between driving a car, where you see everything through the windows, and driving a motorcycle, where you just see everything through… the air I guess. I’ll have to dig that book out again and see if there are any further insights. Thanks!

  4. kathleenmurf says:

    Love it! The only thing I don’t get is why anyone (much less a young child) would assume that God is male. I don’t know about you, but when I die and meet my maker, if I discover the Creator of Heaven and Earth has either male or female naughty bits, I’m going to be seriously disappointed!

    • Well, he’s not assuming it. That’s what we believe, so that’s what he learned. But I’m very curious to know what you are hoping the Creator of Heaven and Earth is exactly. What would make you not disappointed?

  5. Pingback: Kiss the Joy As It Flies | The Conscious Mom's Journey

Leave a Reply

