The Secret to A Happy Life


I’ve been reading a book called The Secret — no, not that one. It’s another one by a Kabbalist named Michael Berg, and its subtitle is “unlocking the source of joy and fulfillment.”  Anyway, I just read something that I thought was very appropriate for me and my little blog here.

Basically, Berg asserts that “the secret” to feeling happy and fulfilled in life is to “become a being of sharing.”  As a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (Mormon to most people), this concept of sharing and serving others totally resonates with me. But I really like the spin Berg puts on it in this little book of his.

“Sharing will become easier if you’re always aware of the real goal toward which all positive change is directed. Not “righteousness” or “enlightenment” or any other self-help or New Age buzzword, the purpose of sharing is to become a being of sharing. Why? Simply because our own joy and fulfillment expands as this transformation takes place. In this way, it’s self-interest in the highest sense.”

Yes, self-interest. But not, I don’t believe, selfishness.  It’s just that as we step outside of ourselves and serve others, it actually does change us – it transforms us. We begin to actually change on a cellular level and feel joy and contentment deep inside.

I could go on (and maybe I will in another post) but for now, I just want to declare to the world and to myself that the reason I am writing this blog is to share. I want to share things that inspire me because maybe they will inspire you.  I want to share things I have learned (both big and small) because I wish someone would have shared them with me. I want to share this journey of a conscious mom with you because I want you to know you are not alone out there in Momville.  I want to provide resources for us all to feel connected to ourselves, connected to each other and connected to our kids.

One thing I know for certain is that connection is a huge part of what makes life meaningful. But connection also makes us vulnerable.

Over the last several months, I have (aside from having my third baby), had a lot of ideas and I have thought of dozens and dozens of things to write about. As you may have noticed from the extreme lack of posts since December, I have stopped myself from writing for one reason or another, most of which all go back to being uncomfortable with being vulnerable.

Well, no more.  I am committed to becoming a being of sharing. Hiding my thoughts from everyone is not only cowardly, but it is also selfish, greedy, and unproductive.  I’m not sure I’ll ever make any money from this blog or if I’ll ever get 1,000 followers, or if anything I write will be helpful to more than a handful of people. But the fact is, not writing even though I have thought of something to write about is stopping me from becoming a being of sharing. So I will share.

And I hope you will too.

Until next time,

The Conscious Mom

This entry was posted in Finding Joy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Secret to A Happy Life

  1. Annie says:

    Thanks for sharing 😉

  2. kathleenmurf says:

    Terrific post, Holly! You are a very talented writer and should never stop writing!!

  3. lauren says:

    Love this. I’ve been thinking a lot about how much struggle and unhappiness could be eliminated if we lived in closer community. I’ve been reading about co-housing and intentional communities and dreaming of starting one someday. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Emilio says:

    I also wish that someone had shared the philosophy of Kabbalah with me a long time ago instead of me coming across it quite by accident. All the religious / spiritual thoughts that I have had for many years finally started to make sense to me when I read, The Way – also by Michael Berg. It seemed like he had written the book just for me. Finally I could start connecting the dots.

    Altho the Berg family comes with a lot of negative publicity, I believe in not throwing out the baby with the dirty bath water…

Leave a Reply

