Back in the Saddle


I’m sure most of you have been waiting with baited breath, thinking, “When is this lady going to post again on The Conscious Mom’s Journey?” It HAS been a while.

My last posts were about playing, so you may have thought I was just living it up, playing the days away and forgetting completely about the blog.  I have not.  I’ve not been playing much and have not forgotten about you, dear handful of readers.

The thing about trying to live consciously is that it’s kind of like remodeling a house.  And when you start dismantling the things you thought you wanted to change, sometimes you end up finding things that you didn’t really want to find.  And even though you know that finding those new problems is really the best thing – because now you can fix them – it doesn’t make dealing with them any easier.

During the last several weeks, a lot of changes have taken place for me, and very quickly I might add.  And while they have been changes I know are either blessings or blessings in disguise, they seem to have put me in reactor mode again – and more of a fearful state rather than a state of conscious creation.

I’m trying to see things from the grand perspective again so I can get back to that Zen-like place of peace and acceptance of whatever happens, which I felt I was getting a glimpse of a little while back.

There’s an awesome quote by C.S. Lewis that I think applies here:

“Imagine yourself as a living house. God comes in to rebuild that house. At first, perhaps, you can understand what He is doing. He is getting the drains right and stopping the leaks in the roof and so on: you knew that those jobs needed doing and so you are not surprised. But presently He starts knocking the house about in a way that hurts abominably and does not seem to make sense. What on earth is He up to? The explanation is that He is building quite a different house from the one you thought of — throwing out a new wing here, putting on an extra floor there, running up towers, making courtyards. You thought you were going to be made into a decent little cottage: but He is building a palace. He intends to come and live in it Himself.”

This weekend, I’m attending an event that I’m hoping will get me back in the saddle again. It’s called, “Awaken the Goddess,” put on by my friend Marie Holleman, one of the founders of Revolution Motherhood and the RevMom Academy that I was a part of.  The event promises to leave attendees with a clear understanding of our personal power and to help us CONNECT — to our soul purpose, our kids, our body, and our divine selves. Sounds good to me. I need this more now than ever.  If you want to join me, click here to register. Friday night is free!

In the meantime, I promise to try harder to forge ahead and post things when I think of them instead of just thinking of them and then letting those thoughts die in my currently overcrowded brain.

Happy Tuesday!

— The Conscious Mom

This entry was posted in Living Deliberately, Self-discovery, Shadow/Ego/Subconscious and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Back in the Saddle

  1. melanie says:

    Yay! i LOOVE that quote. it’s the one I’m making for Dad (yes, still. oy.) love it so much though, it puts such a great perspective on things.

  2. Kathleen Murphy says:

    Congrats on a wonderful blog! It starts my day out right to take in such expansive thoughts. You are a terrific writer and communicator. Oh, but I’ve told you that a thousand times!! 🙂

  3. Laurel Zundel says:

    The trick is not to get in the way and let the repairs proceed on schedule. Perspective is great and from where I’m looking I see it your “house” is incredible. Thanks for helping me look at my house differently too.

    • Excellent point, Laurel. It does help to just let the repairs happen the way they’re supposed to happen. That’s where the whole Zen Motherhood thing comes in. It’s such a hard thing to actually do because when you’re trying really hard to “let go,” the Zen-like attitude totally turns into control freak attitude. Also, excellent point about my “house” being awesome. 🙂 Hehe. 🙂 Thanks for the kind words.

Leave a Reply

